Mud, Sweat, and Beers

Me in Dublin Castle
Me in Dublin Castle

It’s amazing how easy it is to fall out of a good routine.  Until this morning, the last time I trained was almost two weeks ago – I went to CrossFit the day before I left for Ireland, and we did a Hero WOD in honor of Veteran’s Day:

The Seven

Seven rounds for time of:

7 Handstand push-ups

7 Thrusters (we used 55#)

7 Knees to elbows

7 Deadlifts (we used 135#)

7 Burpees

7 Kettlebell swings (we used 16 kg)

7 Pull-ups (we scaled to ring rows)

I chose to do that workout as a partner WOD.  I definitely wouldn’t have finished under the 40 minute time cap otherwise!  We also scaled the weight and the pull-ups.  It was a good one though!

I was in Ireland for less than a week, but that was more than enough time to break my typical routine.  Six days of eating sausage and potatoes and getting most of my calories from Guinness has had some lingering effects, compounded by jet lag.  Even though I got back on Monday night, I didn’t train until this morning.  I decided to go to my regular gym and figured I should have a pretty good workout – I mean, I didn’t have any soreness and my muscles should be fully recovered, right?

WRONG.  Ugh.  I decided to do legs to take full advantage of my “fully recovered” state.  I felt awful.  It was really warm in the gym today for some reason, which only made it worse.  My heart rate was significantly higher throughout the whole workout than it typically is, and I felt weaker, not stronger.  I was out of breath and had to take more time in between sets.  I used less weight and did less reps.  Here is what I managed to accomplish:

Squats – 95 x 8, 115 x 6, 135 x 5 x5 x4

Single leg RDL’s – 60 lb kettlebell x 10, 8, 7 each leg

TRX pistols – 8, 7, 6 each leg

Leg press – 2 plates per side (super light for me compared to usual) 3 x 12

Calf raises on the leg press (same weight) 15, 12, 10

Lying hamstring curls – 65 lb x 10, 8, 6

20 mins – intervals on the bike

1000 m row for time – 5:47

I thought about adding box jumps or walking lunges, but my quads were cramping up and I felt destroyed by what I had already done.  Then I forced myself to do some conditioning.  Again, heart rate sky-high.  It was rough.

I’ve written before about how much rest, hydration, and nutrition in the days, not just hours, leading up to a workout make a huge difference.  My experience today just confirms that suspicion.  I’ve been chronically dehydrated for almost 2 weeks.  I haven’t been sleeping well due to a combination of booze, jet lag, and staying out late.  Other than a bit of rocket (a green that is super common in salads in Ireland, but not so much here), I am not sure whether I even ate any green vegetables while I was in Dublin.  My recent lifestyle choices have cumulatively put my body and mind in a less than ideal state for training.  But the good news is, I took the first step toward getting back to my normal routine.  My nutrition is spot on, I am focusing on hydrating today, and I am finally back on a somewhat normal sleep schedule.

It is easy to fall out of a routine, but fortunately, it is also relatively easy to get back into it once you make up your mind that enough is enough.  I have about a month and a half left in Charlotte, so I am going to try to CrossFit as much as possible, and supplement the WOD’s with gym training or running.  Because the holidays are almost upon us, nutrition is tricky this time of year, but besides Christmas, I think I should be able to stick to plan pretty easily.  I actually think the bigger obstacle is that I will want to spend quality time with all of the friends I have here before I leave, which usually means eating out and/or drinking.  I know the month or so before I moved here from Phoenix, there were endless happy hours and nights out that definitely took their toll on my health and my physique.  I am going to do my best to strike a better balance this time.

Now that I am moving to Chicago, I also set a new goal for myself – to complete the Tough Mudder in Chicago in May 2014.  I am not a fan of running.  I do 5K races here and there for fun, but the only distance race I’ve completed was the Rock N Roll half marathon in Phoenix several years ago, which I swore I would never repeat.  Fun runs are great, but I really want to take on something that will push me both physically and mentally.  I’ve got a little less than 6 months to train for it, which should be more than enough.  So, I think Sunday will officially become “Run Day” for me in the coming months, which I’ll supplement with CrossFit metcons and sprints to prepare for the race.

I’m currently recruiting for my Tough Mudder Chicago team – any takers? 🙂

taking-risks

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kenton says:

    Hmmmm. Is 6 months enough time to go from couch to Tough Mudder? Intriguing idea.

Leave a Reply

