Accidental Deliciousness and Food Accountability

My eating has drastically improved over the past week.  I finally started using MyFitnessPal, and it has made such a big difference!

MyFitnessPal is a website that allows you to track your baseline calorie burn (what you burn just doing your normal activities of daily living), your nutrition intake, and your exercise, then calculates your calorie deficit or surplus for the day.  It’s easy to use and to add food – they even have an app for your phone so you can log workouts or meals on the go.

Why is this helping so much?  First – it’s quantitative and objective.  You can see the consequences of your decisions in black and white.  This helps in two ways – one, it makes you think twice about overindulging and two, it makes me realize that even if I do overeat a little bit, I may still be under or at my calorie requirements for the day (especially if I worked out that day).  I find that I am more motivated to eat clean and to get my workouts in when I know I’m going to log everything.  I even sent a link to my food diary to my trainer so he can check in on me periodically.  In an act of full disclosure and total accountability, I’ve also made my diary public – you can view it here: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/food/diary/kdrumwri.

I highly recommend that you check it out!  If you decide to join, add me as a friend – my username is kdrumwri.  There is a social networking aspect to the site to help maintain accountability.  And keep checking in on me to make sure I keep logging in!

Now Part 2 – the recipe.  I was looking for post-workout carb source at Harris Teeter this weekend.  I really wanted Oat Flour, but couldn’t find any.  Instead, I found White Rice Flour.  I also ran out of vanilla-flavored whey protein and only had strawberry – blech!

After my workout, I decided I wanted a protein pancake and I would have to make do with what I had.  So, I mixed together:

  • 1 scoop strawberry-flavored whey protein
  • 1/4 c white rice flour
  • 2 packets of Stevia
  • 1/2 tbsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 c of unsweetened original almond milk

I cooked my pancake in a small frying pan, and it came out amazing!  The white rice flour gave the pancake the consistency and fluffiness of pound cake.  The strawberry flavor actually tasted great because it reminded me of strawberry shortcake!  I ate mine with sugar free syrup, but I think it would also be really good with some sliced strawberries and Stevia (to make it syrupy) on top.  In fact, I kind of want one right now…but, I would be over my calorie intake for the day if I did, so I won’t!

Check out MyFitnessPal, my diary, and add me as a friend!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good post. I be taught something more difficult on totally different blogs everyday. It is going to always be stimulating to read content material from different writers and observe slightly something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content material on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink on your internet blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

