My Favorite (Healthy) Things

Kayla’s Favorite Healthy Things List

1. 

I’ve seen a lot of articles lately questioning whether dairy consumption is really all that healthy for human adults.  I already converted from cow’s milk to almond milk a while ago (I prefer it in protein shakes because it is the right consistency for a shake that isn’t too thick nor to watery).  I am a huge fan of probiotics, but the source that most people use to ingest them is yogurt, so…I found a great tasting tea instead!  I also love that it is caffeine free.  I’ve been trying to cut down on my caffeine consumption (which produced some seriously bad withdrawal headaches).  I also used to have a lot of GI issues, but once I started ingesting probiotics regularly, all of my GI issues pretty much disappeared!

2.

This is a recipe for an apple cider vinegar lemon detox drink from the Vanilla Bean Lean blog – you can find her original post with the recipe here.  I love this drink.  I sometimes have it more than once per day.  I was skeptical that anything with lemon juice and apple cider vinegar in it could be good, but it has a sweet and tart taste that I really like.  Great thing to have first thing in the morning!

3.

Thanks to my discovery of this little gem, I now have an Almond Protein Pancake recipe.  The natural sweetness of the almonds really enhances the taste.  Here is the recipe:

  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein
  • 1/4 c almond flour/meal
  • 1/2 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 packets of Stevia
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Splash of almond extract
  • ~1/4 c unsweetened almond milk

Spray a small frying pan with butter-flavored cooking spray and heat over medium.  Whisk all ingredients together and pour into hot pan.  Flip when outside edges become firm.  I eat mine with a drizzle of sugar-free syrup.

4.

This is Carolina-style salsa.  Ingredients are: tomatoes, cabbage, chili peppers, tomato juice, onions, apple cider vinegar, pepper, cilantro, lime juice, salt, and spice.  Great served over meatless meatballs or scrambled with egg whites!

5.

This website does personal genotyping.  I did this a couple of months ago out of sheer curiosity and appreciation for human genetics.  Yes, it’s $300, but I thought the information you get back from doing it is pretty incredible.  Once you sign up/purchase the service, they mail you a kit.  It’s a little gross, but basically you spit into a plastic tube they mail you, seal it up, and mail it back in the box it came in.  Within 2-3 weeks, you get your genetic test results.  Here are the different types of results you get access to:

  • Traits (57 total) including things like eye color, muscle performance, caffeine resistance, pain sensitivity, eating behavior, response to diet, response to exercise, etc.
  • Disease Risk (118 total) including diabetes, many types of cancer, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, alcohol dependence, coronary heart disease, obesity, and multiple sclerosis.
  • Carrier Status (47 total).  This tells you if you have any genetic variants present that are strongly linked to particular diseases.
  • Drug Response (20 total).  This displays your status regarding any genetic variants present that may impact your reaction to different types of drugs in terms of sensitivity and the likelihood of experiencing side effects.

There is also a section on ancestry.  Although that wasn’t the primary reason I decided to do the testing, it is pretty cool to trace back your family lineage.

I am totally loving Charlotte, by the way.  I really think this is the best decision I have ever made.  Training is going great – I am working out with a trainer 4 times per week doing total body conditioning.  I’m doing exercises that I have never done before (rope slams, kettlebell swings, front squats) and exercises that I haven’t done in a very long time.  I’m weak and a little out of shape, but at this rate, I’ll be back in top condition in no time!

Leave a Reply

