Food Hangover

Wow, what a weekend.  I feel like it was just a short time ago that I was a spectator in the audience at the July show pondering whether I had what it took to compete or not.  For so long after that, I have been working my ass off for this competition, counting down the weeks and then the days until the big day.  And now, it’s over.  Crazy!

The whole process has been one of self discovery and full of highs and lows.  I actually got a little bit emotional when it finallly sunk in that I had done it.  I set a difficult goal, saw it through to the end, and successfully completed it.  I am a figure competitor; not the girl who spent years wishing that she had the discipline and dedication to be one.  That feels incredible.

Where do I go from here?  First, I enjoyed indulging in all of my favorite treats – and I mean ALL of them.  My body probably thinks I’ve lost my mind going from chicken and asparagus to pizza and cookies.  The rebound after a competition is incredible.  I stepped on stage at 109 lbs on Saturday.  As of this morning, I was 116.6 lbs.  Yeesh!  No, that doesn’t all represent true weight gain – a lot of it has to do with water and sodium, so it will probably settle down a bit once I get back into a routine.  I originally told myself I would only indulge through Sunday and then get back on track today.  Showing up at work with no healthy food packed and a ton of Halloween candy at my desk was probably not the ideal plan for that.  Suffice it to say several full size candy bars and a few fun size ones disappeared somewhere in the chocolate Bermuda triangle of my cubicle area.  To fail to plan is to plan to fail!

I’ve got my healthy food cooked and packed for tomorrow.  I’m heading to bed early so heeding my early morning wakeup call to hit the gym isn’t a struggle.  I’ve had several days off from the gym, indulged in everything and anything, and now I am ready to get back to it.

I placed 7th out of 11 girls, which is respectable.  I’m content with that.  I know I could do so much better though.  I know with time, with the things I’ve learned in sports psychology, with knowing myself better and having realistic expectations, I could make huge improvements.  I have potential and I want to see what I can achieve if I put in the time and energy to nourish it.

Will I compete again?  The answer is a yes, which is perhaps unexpected (especially if you read my last post).  I pursued this first competition with the overall goal of surviving the process and looking like I belonged on stage – mission accomplished.  The next competition, I want top 3.  I’m competitive – the tiger in me refuses to settle for just making it through next time.  I don’t want to blend in, I want to shine.

Photos from the competition should be posted in the next day or so.  I’ll see how I look, send them to Nicole, and get an off season training plan together.  I’ll also solicit feedback from the judges at the show.  I’ve got my sights set on a July show in Tucson with a show in Mesa the following weekend.  That gives me 5 months of off season training to really transform my physique before another 12 week competition prep.

When I get the photos from the competition, I will definitely share my before and after pics.  It’s amazing how much you can change in just a few months!

With all that said, I’m going to take some Tums and chug some water.  My last indulgent meal of Chipotle is not settling well.  Back to chicken and quinoa tomorrow! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

